Archive for March 19th, 2014

19
Mar
14

Beer Review: White Zen

ashwin dutt and nikita shahIt couldn’t have been more perfectly timed. The Bombay summer had just arrived, I was flat broke and trying to get drunk on cheap liquor very unsuccessfully. I wasn’t too keen on getting wasted on bhang because I’ve had some unfortunate life-changing experiences on it that I just cannot forget, but it was Holi (Dhuleti, actually) and I would’ve had it, but I couldn’t procure any. Fresh, unadulterated toddy (taa-dee!) is meant to be consumed at room temperature, and is disgustingly pungent. The fermented alcoholic drink wasn’t doing the trick, and I found myself plonked across a table occupied by two generous souls who have been kind to me on more than one occasion. The last time I was at The Woodside Inn, I had a blast ignoring the women guzzling imported brews. This time Woodside Eatery & Bar was serving their craft beers and the munificent two happened to be lunching there during happy hours. Gateway Brewing Company’s White Zen, as you can see, is a very sexy drink, and is extremely drinkable. Surprisingly, this beer is hoppier than the other hefeweizens I’ve had, but this is hardly a complaint, especially with the clove spiciness making your tongue tingle all over. Not being able to taste the banana flavour at all (probably because of the vile grog I’d had just before), I made the most of White Zen‘s drinkability, enjoying its crispiness and the hints of citrus, and the malts which eventually break through. Say ‘hefeweizen’ aloud and you’ll know how this beer got its name. May Lord Satan bless Ashwin Dutt and Nikita Shah for making a thirsty man very happy.

RATING: 4/5 




Member of The Internet Defense League

Follow Mehta Kya Kehta? on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Blog Stats

  • 1,238,824 hits
March 2014
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives