17
Nov
09

Book Review: The Malhotra Bride

sundari venkatraman - the malhotra brideHow many books have you read that leave you smiling at the end? And how many books have you read that make you grin every now and then, and make you chuckle when you least expect it? From author Sundari Venkatraman comes a sparkling tale of a marriage arranged between two beautiful people by their families, both of which have the same respect for tradition and culture but differing perspectives of marriage and individuality.

Hailing from a conservative Hindu family, Sunita Rishi is petrified at the thought of her freedom being snatched away when her parents insist it’s time for her to get married. Enter hunk Akshay Malhotra, an extremely good-looking young man handling his father’s multicrore empire Malhotra Garments, and equally unwilling to get trapped in marital bliss and give up his bachelorhood.

The two almost immediately become enamoured with each other (of course, what were you expecting?) but sign a verbal contract to part ways after being married for three years, for Sunita to be able to fulfill her dreams and ambitions. What follows is a breezy ride of courtship, with minor problems posing as speedbreakers the duo must slow down for and gracefully glide over.

Not once throughout the The Malhotra Bride does Sundari Venkatraman let you realize this is her first novel, and she displays her gift of putting her flow of thoughts into words without trying to prove any point at all, and that is what makes her tale an even more compelling read. I suspect a great part of The Malhotra Bride is autobiographical, for it seems impossible to me that someone can write in this manner without actually having experienced it, but since the author dismissed that suspicion by laughing it off when I put it across as a query, I’ll have to go back to my first opinion – that she is exceptionally skilled at her craft.

I’ll admit I picked up this book in a bid to gain more insight into the behaviour of alpha males, but ended up falling head over heels in love with Sunita. Hook, line and sinker. I’m also quite taken by the fact that the author has woven this story together without any grey characters, you will not find malice or spite anywhere in The Malhotra Bride.

Reading and listening to music are two of the greatest pleasures, and I often combine any one of these with the joy that is drinking. I’m surprised at and annoyed with myself for calling for several more rounds of the intoxicating stuff just because I didn’t want to leave the restaurant without finishing The Malhotra Bride. Will I ever go anywhere near ‘chick literature’ again? Not till Sundari Venkatraman publishes her next delight.

Book Review: The Fountainhead


16 Responses to “Book Review: The Malhotra Bride”


  1. 1 Trupti
    November 17, 2009 at 06:48

    Totally and completely agree with you. The Book leaves you smiling….and you just cant keep it down till you reach the end…Even I am eagerly waiting for the next one…

    Like

  2. 2 Shweta Krishnan
    November 17, 2009 at 06:54

    I totally agree with aditya on this one. Its indeed a great piece of work by Sundari and the story takes you to another world altogether. I still remember reading it a day before my exams and obviously the book was more interesting than my academic reading which made me read the book until 3 am 🙂

    It is a must read for all those who enjoy romance.

    Looking forward to more novels from you Sundari.

    You rock. Keep up the good work!!!

    Like

  3. November 17, 2009 at 06:59

    Hi Aditya,
    I am thrilled. Finally! Your review is definitely worth the wait. My idea was always to leave the readers smiling. I don’t know how to write dark stuff. In fact, trying to train myself. Hope it does not turn out to be a farce. That should be for my fourth novel which I have been writing over the past few years. 😦 There is just no time. My second novel should be out in the first half of 2010. Please be in touch. Am I proud that this is your first book review! Thanks a ton! Will it be too much to say that ‘this is exactly what i expected of you’? 😀

    Like

  4. November 17, 2009 at 07:17

    Hi Good day Aditya,
    You have expressed the same thoughts I had while reading & after reading the book :).
    Im just going WOW & feel like laughing out loud.already grinning since 2days everytime I was reading it.

    She is the d indian version of MB. But she has a balance between mushy-mushy stuff & too serious. The character & story she weaves is engrossing & a gr8 read. Hope its a reality too 😉

    A great piece of work by Sundari. Waiting for her next masterpiece.

    Like

  5. November 17, 2009 at 07:17

    I’m just glad the ladies are agreeing with me because the guys are going to take my case about reading chick lit for a looong time 😀

    No more chick lit till 2010!

    Like

  6. 6 Bindi Mehta
    November 17, 2009 at 09:01

    Hello. One of my favourite writers reviewing a book I have long been waiting to read. Can’t get better than that. 🙂 Looking forward to posting another comment here after reading the book. Hope it makes the arranged marriage process less intimidating for people like me.

    Like

  7. 7 chandra murthy
    November 17, 2009 at 12:02

    i am really thrilled reading these reviews because i feel very proud tht i was the first person and enjoyed reading it and must have praised (dont know how many times) your hidden talent for writing.

    Like

  8. 8 T.K.Srinivasan
    November 17, 2009 at 17:34

    The raving reviews make ‘Not-Yet Readers of the Novel’ like me to yearn to
    read the book, soon!

    Like

  9. 9 Sony
    November 18, 2009 at 08:14

    I really fell in love with Mr. Malhotra I was really imaging myself with Malhotra. Really Sundari this book is going to Rock the heart of all the youngsters! Cheers waiting for the another romantic story.

    Like

  10. November 18, 2009 at 09:35

    It was a joy to read the book. I started reading it one night and did not put it down till I finished it at 4:00am. Despite the conclusive title, I kept wondering if they will get together in the end. I sincerely wish Sundari has much success in her writing career! Congratulations and best of luck!

    Like

  11. 11 Reuben
    December 17, 2009 at 10:43

    Mr Mehta… you never seem to disappoint.. good book review.. and Sundari.. I haven’t read the book Sundari.. but I’ll pick up one soon!!!

    Like

  12. 12 Vrunda
    February 16, 2010 at 06:12

    The amazing part about this book is how Sundari has made the characters so relatable that you easily empathise with everyone, from different sexes to age groups.

    A book you dont want to keep down until you’ve finished it, cant wait for more to come.

    Keep up the good work!!

    Like

  13. September 11, 2010 at 18:08

    Excellent piece of writing, l quite agree with your submission. I will subscribe to your rss to keep up.

    Like

  14. 14 neelam
    March 18, 2011 at 09:33

    Hi Sundari!
    Congratulations on a great job done1

    Need your direct e-mail at neelamku@yahoo.com

    Help please?

    Neelam
    Writer

    Like

  15. 15 neelam
    March 18, 2011 at 09:38

    Do let me know whether I should go ahead with Raider publishers. Thesum asked is a lot and I want to be sure it is not wasted.

    Please reply urgently at neelamku@yahoo.com

    Like

  16. March 23, 2011 at 08:44

    Hi Neelam, sent you a detailed email.

    Like


Leave a comment


Member of The Internet Defense League

Follow Mehta Kya Kehta? on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Blog Stats

  • 1,238,582 hits
November 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives